Alchemy Forums
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Prima Materia

+3
monkeyblood
BeautifulEvil
Arcanium
7 posters

Go down

Prima Materia Empty Prima Materia

Post  Arcanium Wed Mar 26, 2008 12:35 pm

Hey as I said in my first post I'm new to alchemy and was wondering if anybody could explain the Prima Materia to me.
Arcanium
Arcanium
Visita
Visita

Number of posts : 15
Registration date : 2008-03-26

Back to top Go down

Prima Materia Empty Re: Prima Materia

Post  BeautifulEvil Wed Mar 26, 2008 3:24 pm

There are many prima materia's in alchemy work.

Here's an excerpt from this site: http://www.themystica.com/mystica/articles/~alchemy/prima_materia.html

Prima materia, prime matter, like the goal of the alchemical process has various definitions, with no one definition considered prominent. This is because alchemists had personal definitions of prima materia. Many definitions even contradicted one another. They range from lead, iron, gold, quicksilver, salt, sulphur, vinegar, water, fire, earth, water of life, blood, poison, spirit, clouds, sky, dew, shadow, sea, mother, moon, dragon, Venus, microcosm, and so on. It is not surprising that Ruland's Lexicon gives fifty synonyms and more could be included.

Of course, they're leaving out quite an interesting substance: urine. Wink
BeautifulEvil
BeautifulEvil
Occultum
Occultum

Number of posts : 754
Registration date : 2007-10-10

http://www.englishgematria.com

Back to top Go down

Post  monkeyblood Wed Mar 26, 2008 3:35 pm

.....now thats complicated and confusing for the beginner....can it be narrowed down authoritatively....as an absolute beginner could you tell me the importance of the prima materia....when you've worked it out what is it used for?

monkeyblood
Rectificando
Rectificando

Number of posts : 128
Registration date : 2008-01-16

Back to top Go down

Post  BeautifulEvil Wed Mar 26, 2008 3:39 pm