Alchemy Forums
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

My Introduction and experiences with English Gematria

2 posters

Go down

My Introduction and experiences with English Gematria Empty My Introduction and experiences with English Gematria

Post  Jepetto Wed Feb 20, 2008 11:29 pm

I am fairly new to the practice and philosophy of gematria, but I feel I have been introduced to something very amazing.

My first experience with gematria was from the book Math for Mystics by Renna Shesso. Searching for more information online, I stumbled onto the Prime Qabalah, and many other ideas for ciphers.

I had also seen arguments for and against the use of English language. Some had good points to them, but some also seemed to be ego driven and elitist. It seems to me that it would make sense to use the original languages for documents written in that language. If the sample is a Greek or Hebrew document, then yes use a Greek or Hebrew cipher. But when using an English sample, I would think that an English cipher would be appropriate.

If numbers and patterns persist throughout all of the universe, then these patterns should also be reflected within all constructs of the universe. Language is a very powerful method of tranfering ideas and information from one to another. If the language is constructed out of the ideas and elements of the universe, then it should reflect characteristics of the patterns.

From the book mentioned above, the example that sparked my interest was:

buy=48, sell=48, trade=48, while profit=84. That was a neat trick so I looked into this a bit more and found that labor=48. I had also seen a glimpse of some other interesting aspects of the patterns.